Cafe Con Lychee book review

Lychee
Cafe con Lychee by Emery Lee
320 pages
published May 10th, 2022

From the author of Meet Cute Diary comes a delectable rom-com that’s brimming with zest and a sprinkle of sweetness. A must-read for fans of Casey McQuiston and Julian Winters.

Theo Mori and Gabriel Moreno have always been at odds. Their parents own rival businesses—an Asian American café and a Puerto Rican bakery—and Gabi’s lack of coordination has cost their soccer team too many games to count.

Stuck in the closet and scared to pursue his own dreams, Gabi sees his parents’ shop as his future. Stuck under the weight of his parents’ expectations, Theo’s best shot at leaving Vermont means first ensuring his parents’ livelihood is secure.

So when a new fusion café threatens both shops, Theo and Gabi realize an unfortunate truth—they can only achieve their goals by working together to cook up an underground bakery operation and win back their customers. But can they put aside their differences long enough to save their parents’ shops or will the new feelings between them boil over?

ENEMIES TO LOVERS? Because their parents own RIVAL BUSINESSES? Gabi awkwardness to Theo’s confidence? Different experiences of being queer from two different people which fleshes them out into fully-realized characters? Incredible descriptions of drinks and pastries? FOOD PUNS? Yeah okay I loved this book. Literally the only thing that could have made this book better would be if there were recipes in the back. YA novelists, get on this, please! This is a great readalike to Tweet Cute by Emma Lord, if you enjoyed that. Five stars.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s