Category: fantasy

Book Review: Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches by Kate Scelsa 320 pages published May 31st, 2022 A witchy, atmospheric lesbian contemporary romance set in Salem—from the acclaimed author of Fans of the Impossible Life. Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Becky Albertalli. Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is the last person in Salem to believe in witchcraft—or think that […]

Posted September 15, 2022 by geograph in contemporary, fantasy, queer, review, sapphic, YA / 0 Comments
Book Review: Graveyard Girls: 1-2-3-4, I Declare a Thumb War

Book Review: Graveyard Girls: 1-2-3-4, I Declare a Thumb War

Lisi Harrison is a really prolific author, and it’s because she writes pop fiction, which is not necessarily Good Fiction. This book is. Fine. I read a lot of REALLY GOOD middle grade fiction, and this is not REALLY GOOD middle grade fiction. It’s perfectly fine middle grade, and one thing about the Graveyard Girls […]

Posted September 4, 2022 by geograph in adventure, contemporary, fantasy, horror, review, thriller / 0 Comments
Book Review: The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie

Book Review: The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie

This is about a Lolly, who gets three lemon drops that let her live three different possible lives, an idea I am OBSESSED with. It’s chick lit with magical realism, exploring the possibilities of three different Roads Not Taken, and of course it’s full of heartache. Readalikes: any cozy mystery taking place at a restaurant, […]

Posted August 29, 2022 by geograph in adult, fantasy, review / 0 Comments

Book Review: The Marvellous Land of Snergs

The Marvellous Land of Snergs by Veronica Cossanteli 307 pages published August 30th, 2022 A funny, quirky, brand-new story based on E.A. Wyke-Smith’s classic, the inspiration for J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit, featuring wonderful illustrations from Melissa Castrillón. At the Sunny Bay Home for Superfluous and Accidentally Parentless Children, Pip and Flora were never good at […]

Posted August 26, 2022 by geograph in adventure, fantasy, middle grade, review / 0 Comments