Tag: book blogger

Book Review: Raising the Horseman

Book Review: Raising the Horseman

This Sleepy Hollow retelling or sequel or something features two girls solving the mystery within the fog. Set in the modern era, I found the modern times excellent but the “past” sections difficult to get through and eventually just skipped them. If you have a middle-grader very into the Sleepy Hollow television series, or the […]

Posted January 5, 2023 by geograph in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Can’t Wait Wednesday: Friday I’m In Love

Can’t Wait Wednesday: Friday I’m In Love

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a book blogging meme hosted over at Wishful Endings. It’s to discuss and spotlight books that you’re excited about but that you haven’t read yet, to get you more excited about your TBR pile! It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, which is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. I […]

Posted January 4, 2023 by geograph in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Book Review: Anne, An Adaptation of Anne of Green Gables (Sort Of)

Book Review: Anne, An Adaptation of Anne of Green Gables (Sort Of)

This review redacted while HarperCollins workers are on strike. You can take these actions to help support the strike. Solidarity forever. Rated at a neutral three stars; real review will be up on my blog and edited on Goodreads when HarperCollins’ workers’ demands are met. Donate to the strike fund here. Email peopleteam@harpercollins.com with your […]

Posted January 1, 2023 by geograph in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Book Review: Nikhil Out Loud

Book Review: Nikhil Out Loud

This review redacted while HarperCollins workers are on strike. You can take these actions to help support the strike. Solidarity forever. Rated at a neutral three stars; real review will be up on my blog and edited on Goodreads when HarperCollins’ workers’ demands are met. Donate to the strike fund here. Email peopleteam@harpercollins.com with your […]

Posted December 31, 2022 by geograph in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Book Review: Mooncakes and Milk Bread

Book Review: Mooncakes and Milk Bread

Okay so I requested this book basically immediately after reading WINNIE ZENG UNLEASHES A LEGEND, so, there’s my readalike and recommendation. This is a very cozy baking book that emphasizes sharing Chinese American stories through a Chinese American lens; mixing illustrations with photography, each with just the right amount. It focuses a lot on making […]

Posted September 17, 2022 by geograph in adult / 0 Comments

Book Review: Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches by Kate Scelsa 320 pages published May 31st, 2022 A witchy, atmospheric lesbian contemporary romance set in Salem—from the acclaimed author of Fans of the Impossible Life. Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Becky Albertalli. Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is the last person in Salem to believe in witchcraft—or think that […]

Posted September 15, 2022 by geograph in contemporary, fantasy, queer, review, sapphic, YA / 0 Comments
Book Review: The Woman in the Library

Book Review: The Woman in the Library

This book is WILD and an incredible mystery. It’s set in Boston, in the Boston Public Library, with at least three different layers to it. It’s a thriller that functions as well as a mystery — ie, it doesn’t just keep you on the edge of your seat, there’s actively something to figure out as […]

Posted July 4, 2022 by geograph in adult, review / 0 Comments