The Last Fallen Moon book review

The last fallen moon
The Last Fallen Moon by Graci Kim
384 pages
published June 14th, 2022

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents the second book in Graci Kim’s magical and mysterious Gifted Clans trilogy.

“Graci Kim does such an amazing job of blending Korean mythology into the modern world, I am now wondering how I ever lived without knowing all this cool information.”–New York Times #1 best-selling author Rick Riordan

For Riley Oh, life as the Godrealm’s last fallen star is not all it’s cracked up to be. Her new divine heritage doesn’t even come with cool magical powers; half of her friends and family (including her parents) can’t remember her; and to top it all off, the entire Gom clan is mad at her for killing the Cave Bear Goddess and stripping away their healing abilities.

But when their anger boils over and a group of witches curse Riley’s home, she knows it’s up to her to restore magic back to her clan – even if it means sneaking into the Spiritrealm.

Luckily, Riley has some backup. Along with her sister, Hattie, Riley meets Dahl, a heaven-born boy with shockingly white hair and a fondness for toilets who might not be telling the whole truth about who he is. Together they’ll fight vicious monsters, discover dark underwater worlds, and race to save the land of the dead from a fate that no one could have foreseen.

And this time, Riley won’t let anything get in her way. Because she can’t shake the feeling that something terrible is coming their way – and the gifted community is going to need all the powers they can get.

You’ll never guess, but I did not read the book that is previous in this series, which is called the Gifted Clans trilogy. The first book in the series is called The Last Fallen Star, and I do in fact wish I had read it, because when we pick up in this book, Riley Oh’s parents and friends don’t remember her! What did you do to get into this situation! But, as with all Rick Riordan presents books, I loved learning about Korean mythology in a present-tense way, as it affects our protagonist, Riley. I say this a lot, but this is a great readalike for Aru Shah and her series of books! Aru and Riley are so different as main characters, but each girl grows and changes throughout the course of their stories. I’m excited for this trilogy to join other mythology stories on bookshelves everywhere — and I am going to go back and read the first one! Five stars.

Booksweet link here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s