Crime Writer book review

Crime writer
Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard
440 pages
published October 1st, 2021

Dime Sheppard delivers a smart and witty caper about a crime novelist who recruits her main characters to investigate her maybe-unfaithful fiancé.

Evie Howland has problems.

Guns. Bombs. Murderers.

And that’s just on the page…

In real life she’s meant to be planning a wedding to adorable billionaire Daniel Bradley, but Evie is seriously snarled in the sixteenth book of her successful crime series. In fact, her protagonists are becoming almost impossible to wrangle: NYPD detective Carolyn Harding is volatile after a messy divorce, and Detective Jay Ryan has that heated look in his blue eyes again. They’re both sick of being written. And frankly they’re getting a little…physical. Evie is beginning to wonder if she’s ever going to finish Book Sixteen and get them back into fiction where they belong.

But when a disturbingly familiar homicide surfaces in the city papers, it seems as if other, darker characters might have crossed the fiction-frontier too. In which case, Evie is in a lot of real-life trouble.

If she’s going to survive it, Evie must face her own worst fears, and learn that real love can be the best way of writing her own story.

But can she change the ending?

Full of high-octane adventure and dry humour, this novel is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich’s action-packed Stephanie Plum novels, or Mary Stewart’s stylish romantic suspense.

This was a ??? Romcom thriller? Adventure book? It certainly was not a cozy mystery like I expected. It’s quick and easy and kind of a weird quirky thriller. Almost a cozy mystery, just not set in a cozy town and with hardly any of the Standard Tropes. It’s also kind of a little surreal, and there’s kind of a meta mystery going on top of the mystery. Not sure if I recommend this. Three stars? It’s possible that I’m not the intended audience. Bookshop link here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s