Category: adult

Book Review: Mooncakes and Milk Bread

Book Review: Mooncakes and Milk Bread

Okay so I requested this book basically immediately after reading WINNIE ZENG UNLEASHES A LEGEND, so, there’s my readalike and recommendation. This is a very cozy baking book that emphasizes sharing Chinese American stories through a Chinese American lens; mixing illustrations with photography, each with just the right amount. It focuses a lot on making […]

Posted September 17, 2022 by geograph in adult / 0 Comments
First Time for Everything

First Time for Everything

First Time for Everything by Henry Fry 400 pages published May 10th, 2022 A “hilarious, tender, raw, and heart-stoppingly moving” (Amanda Eyre Ward) debut about a down-on-his-luck gay man working out how he fits into the world, making up for lost time, and opening himself up to life’s possibilities “Fry brings a refreshing voice to […]

Posted September 12, 2022 by geograph in adult, contemporary, nonbinary, queer, review / 0 Comments
Book Review: The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie

Book Review: The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie

This is about a Lolly, who gets three lemon drops that let her live three different possible lives, an idea I am OBSESSED with. It’s chick lit with magical realism, exploring the possibilities of three different Roads Not Taken, and of course it’s full of heartache. Readalikes: any cozy mystery taking place at a restaurant, […]

Posted August 29, 2022 by geograph in adult, fantasy, review / 0 Comments
The Fixer Upper book review

The Fixer Upper book review

why do I accidentally keep reading British romances even though I hate British romances? second-chance romance! a career/life coach at a firm called the Fixer Upper (honestly I found this super charming)! pretty good banter! no sex scenes! fast pacing — I finished this pretty quickly. really cute cover! an aly who spells her name […]

Posted August 22, 2022 by geograph in adult, contemporary, review, romance / 0 Comments