Godslayers book review

Godslayers
Godslayers by Zoe Hana Mikuta
416 pages
published June 28th, 2022

Godslayers—Zoe Hana Mikuta’s high-octane sequel to Gearbreakers—is perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown’s Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu’s Legend series.

The only way to kill a god is from the inside…

The Gearbreakers struck a devastating blow against Godolia on Heavensday, but the cost of victory has been steep. Months later, the few rebels who’ve managed to escape the tyrannical empire’s bloody retribution have fled to the mountains, hunted by the last Zenith—Godolia’s only surviving leader.

Eris has been held prisoner since the attack on the capital city, which almost killed her. And she begins to wish it had when she discovers Sona—the girl she loves, the girl she would tear down cities for—also survived, only to be captured and corrupted by the Zenith. The cybernetic brainwashing that Sona has forcibly undergone now has her believing herself a loyal soldier for Godolia, and Eris’ mortal enemy.

With the rebellion shattered and Godolia moving forward with an insidious plan to begin inducting Badlands children into a new Windup Pilot program, the odds have never been more stacked against the Gearbreakers. Their last hope for victory will depend on whether Eris and Sona can somehow find their way back to each other from opposite sides of a war…

Okay, you’ll never guess what I’m about to say… and that’s right! I did not read GEARBREAKERS! This is the second book in a series, and wow it sure does feel like it. This book honestly reminds me a lot of the Locked Tomb series which is also about morally grey lesbians, caveat that I also did not read the Locked Tomb series. I really don’t have any idea what’s going on at any point, but jeez are the vibes INCREDIBLE. Also WOW look at that COVER. It’s sci-fi, heavy on the romance, with intense and choppy sentences which remind me kind of viscerally of my own writing style, which is interesting! It’s character-driven, which is good, because I literally do not know what is going on in the world. Four stars for vibes alone. I’ll check out GEARBREAKERS from the library.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s