A Poisonous Page book review

A Poisonous Page by Kitt Crowe
320 pages
Publishes July 12th, 2022

Kitt Crowe’s second Sweet Fiction Bookshop mystery whips up an array of intriguing suspects and motives into a diabolically deft read, perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Joanne Fluke.

It’s summer festival time in Confection, Oregon, and that means a barrage of tourists making cash registers ring at Sweet Fiction Bookshop. But what should be bookseller Lexi’s most lucrative time of year turns disturbing when a member of the chamber of commerce suddenly dies of a heart attack. Not entirely unexpected–considering her family history–but it’s a different story when another chamber member dies just one week later…also, presumably, of natural causes.

Something about this doesn’t read right to Lexi. And it gets more unfathomable when her friend Dash–who dated both women–stands accused of murder! With Cookie, her lovable border collie mix, at her side and countless volumes of inspiration on her shelves, Lexi opens the book on another perplexing case. Who could have murdered two prominent townspeople without leaving even a hint of evidence on the scene? And why is an irksome-but-intriguing detective always seeming to catch her and Cookie working the case?

Lexi’s Confection Rose-colored glasses come off when she learns of thorny discussions among the council members, involving a string of secretive real estate transactions. Enlisting her faithful fellow members of the Macaroon Book Club, Lexi sets out to bind the clues together and clear Dash’s name. But if she can’t devise a clever trap for the real killer, she may soon end up with a very unhappily ever after of her own.

Once again I have not read the other books in this series etc etc. Personally I don’t think you need to read cozy mystery books in order, I think series in the genre of cozy mysteries are mostly a fun bonus and a way to follow your favorite authors. More of a feature rather than the main point. I’m never going to anxiously await the next book in a cozy mystery series because cozy mysteries simply do not take up that much space in my head.

Copaganda: The cop’s the love interest!

The mystery: It was fine!

Animal action: There’s a dog, her name is Cookie.

Setting: Small town, involving the manager of a bookshop. Lots of puns involving dessert/books in this one because the town is named Confection.

Main character: She’s likable but not super interesting, I guess? Which is fine!

Three stars. It was perfectly fine.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s